#TeamHonkRelay. A flotilla of mobility scooters? Raising money for @TeamHonk and @SportRelief

badgehonk

Sometimes the most brilliant ideas come when doing the most mundane of tasks.

The weekend before last I was ironing and watching the third round FA Cup match between Notts Forest and West Ham. I was refilling the water reservoir in the steam iron and said, out loud, to myself:

“A FLOTILLA OF MOBILITY SCOOTERS!”

The cat looked perturbed and fled. The hamster looked startled and hid. I looked around for another human to share my Eureka moment with but I was alone. No-one was around to offer me a cup of sweet tea, suggest I sit down, or ask me if I was having some form of embolism.

I was not having an episode dear reader. I was not losing what are left of my marbles. I was simply thinking of what I could do for The Team Honk Blogger Relay, which started in Lands End on Sunday and finishes in John O Groats on the 23rd March 2014, as I’d recklessly promised @MummyBarrow my mind and body to help raise £20,000 for Sport Relief. And yes, before you ask, there was a glass of something fizzy and alcoholic in my hand when I promised my assistance.

Please drink responsibly kids, otherwise you too will end up committing yourself to something quite, quite bonkers.

But alcohol may cause loosened lips and even looser hips but NOT loose promises in this here Spencer. Oh no! And so I’m proud to say that I’m part of Team Honk Sheffield. HONK HONK if you like to…

That’s quite enough of that.

My mission will be taking the baton from @ThisDayILove on Friday February 28th 2014 and touring Barnsley and the surrounding areas before handing the baton back to @ThisDayILove at  Sheffield Meadowhall Shopping Centre of Amazing Delights the next evening.

*Cue classical music*

My hope, my vision, my dream, dear reader, is to create an event like no other. I want our section of this crazy mad, but awesomely brilliant rollercoaster to raise as much money as possible, involve as many people as possible and I want us ALL to have as much fun as possible.

And IF I HAVE TO SHAVE MY LEGS TO DO SO THEN I WILL, DAMMIT!

I envisage a mad dash, involving a milk float, a tractor, an ice cream van and a Sinclair C5, from Barnsley Railway Station to Wentworth Castle, to Cannon Hall to Barnsley Hospital.

I see young and old, anyone from 8 to 80, and anyone younger or older, taking part in a rollicking relay race around Barnsley, the like of which hasn’t been seen outside of It’s A Knockout or The Benny Hill Show.

I see trampolinists bouncing up, and hopefully down again, outside a Barnsley Town Hall bathed in red.

I have a dream, of a flotilla of mobility scooters making their way from Barnsley Hospital, HONKING THEIR WAY into Barnsley town centre like an electrically powered, noisy, road-based version of the Red Arrows. I see them holding the Team Honk Baton aloft like the proud Warriors of the Pavements they are, claiming the roads as their own for an hour, creating a moment we can all remember for the rest of time!

I have visions my friends, and not the type of visions involving Beyonce and a bouncy castle. I have visions, I have ideas and these are just some of them. And it’s my dream to make them happen, and I’ll do my darndest to make them happen. As @thisdayIlove said to me when I asked ‘Can we really do all of this?’

‘Dream big Spencer.’

*Cue the nightmares and night sweats, the sleepless nights wondering if we can get tractors, a Sinclair C5, an Audi Quatro and a penny farthing*

Yeah. Reckon we can do this. It’ll be reight.

If you can help, and I am sure some of you CAN help, individuals, schools, organisations and companies alike, then please please PLEASE get in touch. My email address is adadcalledspen@gmail.com or just leave a comment in the comments section and I’ll be in touch.

I’ll be blogging and tweeting the heck out of this until my thumbs are bloodied stumps so apologies in advance for the rather random requests you might see on my Twitter timeline very soon. “Anyone in Barnsley got a monkey costume I can borrow? Size Large.” being just one of them.

In the meantime, I’m going all Bob Geldof on yo’ bottom by saying ‘Gimme the f***ing money’ so please Sponsor Spencer here at the Just Giving page for Team Honk Sheffield.

Anything you donate, even £1, WILL make a difference. If lots of people donate £1 or more then we’ll raise a lot of pounds, enabling Sport Relief to help those most in need, both at home in the UK and around the world.

Thanks for reading, thanks for your donations and thanks in advance for your help. This is not the last time you will hear me speak of this topic.

I kiss you all on both cheeks. And I’d like to give special thanks to the wonderful Lynsey Morris at Active Response Security Services for her help and advice so far.

***

Further info:

Follow Team Honk Twitter & Hashtags: @team_honk #teamhonkrelay and Sport Relief Twitter & Hashtags: @sportrelief #SR14

Text HONK to 70005 and donate £5 to Sport Relief .

The first ever Sainsbury’s Sport Relief Games take place from Friday 21st to Sunday 23rd March 2014. The public can join the fun and games by running, swimming or cycling their way to raising cash at over a thousand venues around the country, including the landmark events at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

As one of the biggest fundraising events, Sport Relief brings the entire nation together to get active raise cash and change lives. The money raised by the public is spent by Comic Relief to help transform the lives of some of the poorest and most disadvantaged people both at home in the UK and across the world.

7 responses to “#TeamHonkRelay. A flotilla of mobility scooters? Raising money for @TeamHonk and @SportRelief

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

