I have a cold

Cold

Atchoo.

Sorry about that. I have a cold.

I’m not the type that lies around and moans about having a cold. Usually. But today I think I can. There’s a lot going on and I’m feeling rather pressured. Plus I have a cold.

I picked it up, this cold what I have, while waiting in the Urgent Care Centre in St Thomas’ Hospital on Thursday. Mum was in having her shoulder seen to after 4 days of refusing to go to the hospital. This other random woman was coughing and sneezing and moving seats so she could share her germs with the world. Kind eh? At one point she ended up behind me and coughed and coughed so I knew I was gonna pick up something. I was caught in her cloud of sneezy, coughy, spluttery illness.

Hospitals. Grim places. They’re full of ill people.

So mum’s got a broken shoulder which means she can’t do anything. Which means I have to. Do everything. And I have a cold.

Not sure I mentioned it. This cold I’ve got. But maybe I should. I’ve got a cold.

But one must get on and not moan. When I was a stay at home dad the children would get ill. We’d get to Baby Rhyme Time on Friday mornings and, as sure as eggs are eggs, by Sunday they’d have a cold picked up from some small person and all of us being contained in a small space while the library heating is on ‘Tropical’ setting.

Calpol would be deployed to help when they were unwell. The children would get some too.

Obviously no-one likes to see their children suffering but Calpol made them feel better. Mum once told me that when I was ill as a child Calpol ‘didn’t work’ on me. Apparently it made me run around and not go to sleep. I suggested once that perhaps it made me feel better so it did work.

When the kids have colds Keela gets on. She has bursts of wellness and then suddenly she’ll be all pooped out on the sofa. Cuddled up with Elmo or me. Tiernan, being a typical Y chromosome bearer, grumbles, coughs and splutters and needs cuddles.

He’ll often mention he’s got a cold. Like 4 or 5 times a day. I mean, who does that?

Me. I’d be fine. I never came down with anything. I couldn’t. It’s a 24/7 job looking after 2 small children so how would I have the time to rest and recover? I’d take Lemsip and get on. Stay at home parents can’t have sick days.

But this situation is different. I’m a stay at home… son to my parent? That’s weird. That’s just made my head confused a bit. It could be because I have a cold. Not sure I mentioned it.

I’m looking after mum while her fracture heals and she doesn’t do cuddles or Calpol. She’s 62 and a tad stubborn. Getting her to take her meds is hard. Harder than dealing with a 2-year-old. At least a 2-year-old would take a chocolate button as a reward for taking their medicine. Mum just scrunches her face up and says No. Several times. Often shoutily. And she doesn’t eat chocolate buttons.

And she needs to take her usual meds, on top of the new painkilling one’s she’s on at the moment. And so it’s a bit of a battle.

“I don’t want to take them. I’m fine.”

“You’re fine? Okay then. If you’re fine, I’ll leave you to make your dinner then…”

“I’m not fine.” And so the meds get taken.

Is this mean? This approach? I dunno. All I know is it works. And right now whatever works works.

It’s late October and I have windows and doors open so the house gets aired and we’re not sitting in the House of Plague. Not sure what would happen if mum got this cold. I don’t think it would be good. I can’t think of that though. To be honest, with all the meds inside her mum will probably be better off than me.

I’ll be fine. In a day or two I’ll be over this. I have a cold. But I’ll live. Just so’s you know.

But I am thinking of hanging around the hospital again just to get my own back. Sharing is caring right?

Thanks for reading.

3 responses to “I have a cold

  1. Sharing is caring but in this case you can have it all to yourself. 😉
    Bless you, you poor thing I hope u make a quick recovery, its good to see you still have a sense of humour through it all! Xx

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

