A letter to my daughter on her 3rd birthday

Keela

Darling Keela,

It’s your birthday darling,  you’re 3. Happy birthday darling girl.

Is it really a year since I wrote you a letter for your 2nd birthday? A year? Wow. Time flies gorgeous, time flies. It feels like 5 minutes ago.

Talking of time, I could spend hours, days, weeks writing about you. And I’d love every second doing so.

Your name means ‘one whose beauty can only be described by poetry’ and this isn’t poetry I’m afraid. But it is written from my heart so it’ll have to do for now.

I want the world to know just how special, incredible, and beautiful you are. I want the world to know just how much you mean to me. But this is for you. And one day, when you’re older, you might read this and have an idea of just how much you are loved.

There’s something about you which defies explanation. A fierce intelligence, something in a look you give when you’re doing things. You get on. You play, you draw, you build things and you don’t seek praise. You do it because you want to. You do it because you enjoy life, and that’s evident in your smile, laugh and never-ending sense of fun. Darling girl, may you always enjoy life in this way. And if times ever get tough or hard for you then just come to me. I’ll sort it out. Whatever the problem is I’ll fix it. Whatever the issue is we can talk about it. If ever you feel sad then know that I will do my best to put that smile back on your face.

Nothing will ever be too much.

The world is a richer place with you in it. The world is a beautiful place with you in it. And you are never not in my thoughts. People do stuff. Get on with life. Think about things, but when you’re a parent you’ll know this feeling. While other things are going on, you still think about your children. And while other things are going on please know that I am always thinking about you.

If you asked for the Moon I would do my best to pull it down from the sky just for you, just because you asked. I’d wrestle bears, tigers, slay fire-breathing dragons and destroy demons tossed straight from Hell just to keep you safe and protected. If you asked for the Universe in your hand, I’d die trying to give you it. But, darling girl, you DO have the Universe in your hand. You have a life before you which I know will be incredible. You will make an incredible mark on this world. I know this.

I know this because you already have.

I hope you have a wonderful day. I can’t wait to see you and give you a big hug and breathe you in again.

When I say these next  words I mean them with all my big old stupid, battered and soppy heart. And never doubt them.

I love you. And always will.

Have a wonderful birthday.

All my love, always,

Daddy XXX

6 responses to “A letter to my daughter on her 3rd birthday

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

