Someone call CSI PDQ.

Yesterday lunchtime. Lunchtime yesterday. This picture was tweeted by @Samara_B. An unwelcome addition to her meal. A bone found in an M&S fresh Indian Chicken and Vegetable Soup. I think it winked at her too…

The Bone

I believe ‘FML’ and ‘WTAF’ were created for moments like this.

What would you do? Take it back and be happy with a £2 voucher for another soup? After all, this isn’t just any bone. This is an M&S bone. Origin unknown but I reckon it looks human but I’m no expert with you human Earth creatures.

I think that up there *Points up there* in my meal might put me off soup and perhaps food for a number of days. Imagine that thing in your mouth? Oh the trauma.

No. Lets not.

So what would you do? Complain? Chuck it in the bin and never think of it again? Call CSI and get some answers? Write a letter to head office and complain? Ask for an inquiry into how and why and, while you’re at it, something a bit more substantial than a £2 voucher.

Perhaps now we’re all used to eating surprise horsemeat we’re all a bit ‘oh whatever’ about food. Blase perhaps? Dunno. Would you complain or do you think that would be, if you’ll forgive the pun, making a meal of it?

If I get something crap. A meal that’s not up to scratch or some piece of something not supposed to be there in my meal then I will send the meal back. I’ll do it if it’s below a certain level of acceptability. This is not because I’m fussy but it’s because it’s my right.

What do you do? Are you a complainer and a sender backer? I realise I could’ve put that better but I’m sticking with ‘sender backer’ as it works. And have you had anything totally minging in your meal? A nail? A pube? A piece of human bone?

Please share with the group and, after that picture above, please don’t have nightmares.

9 responses to “Someone call CSI PDQ.

  1. I would most definitely complain! I have taken meat back to the supermarket before when I got it home and realised it was not so fresh as I had been led to believe. But then I guess it also depends on the situation… we went to ASK in Cambridge (having had a great experience in our local restaurant) and I asked for the gluten-free pasta. When it came it was hard… not al-dente but HARD. We complained and the waiter simply said, “it’s gluten-free, it’s different”. I pointed out that it needed cooking longer and that I have cooked many varieties of gluten-free pasta at home and if anything it is softer than normal pasta, not harder. His response to this was, “well I can send it back and get them to do you some more, but it will just come back like this as this is what gluten-free pasta is like”. *sigh*. I gave up at that point because the only way to get anywhere would have been to ask for something else entirely and by that point everyone else in our group would have already finished their meals. I was disappointed but just didn’t feel the fight was worth it there and then. I believe we complained afterwards though, because not only was the waiter rude to me about my food, but another member of staff rudely interrupted our meal to tell my friend (whose back was facing the door) that “there is someone in a wheelchair you must move NOW”. Not that he minded moving at all… in fact he would have gladly moved had he seen the person in the wheelchair or been asked more politely, it was the fact it was barked at him whilst his chair was being pushed aside. In that instance we realised that it wasn’t just one member of staff who was impossible to discuss anything with, so chances of getting anywhere that night in terms of discussing our experience was useless. I think how you respond to these things does very much depend on the situation and who you are dealing with!

  2. I would take it back and ask for a full refund. Also depending on the type of bone, condition of the bone would decide whether or not I would order food from that establishment again.

  3. Bleurgh. I found a hair in an M&S mushroom thing, wrote to them and got £15. They pay out less than they used to. When I was at uni a decade ago they sent £25 for a similar incident. It’s not about the money, but the principle. That said, £2 is a bit of an insult!

  4. When I had food poisoning I had to list everywhere I had eaten in the last several days — in spite of the fact I know it was my own damn fault because I’d cooked bacon the day before and I specifically recall some of the grease getting out of control while the meat was still under-cooked, so I likely got it on my hands and ingested it. Anyway, the hospital has to report all instances of food poisoning to some agency that keeps records of such things. Maybe like the CDC or something? That way if enough complaints are made regarding one particular location, the agency has a way to trace epidemics or whatever to the main source. Bottom line — I’d find out what agency takes record of such things and report the bone to them, because that right there? Is unacceptable.

    • I’ve heard similar actually. Friend of mine’s mum was really ill with salmonella and had to list everywhere she ate. Turns out it was a dodgy scotch egg she ate at a… wait for it. Funeral!
      Good idea. I think there is a place to report such things but hope that M&S get their ting together and make sure it doesn’t happen again, but no sure that’s possible.
      Thanks for reading and thanks for your comment.

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

