Getting on with shizzle.

depression, support, love

So I’ve been depressed and low, and still feel a bit up and down at times but things are starting to level out and I’m doing the right things to ensure I don’t get that low again. Ever. I know it’s a long journey but every journey starts with a single step. I guess the key is to not stumble along the way.

I’ve never been brilliant at looking after myself and I love caring for others. Those who know me know this, but right now I know that I need to look after myself so I don’t slump  that low ever again. And just now, I can only send my love to those miles away from me who mean so much to me, through words and a few audible yearns. Which I did in Co-op the other day and got an odd look.

I know my behaviour and worries caused concern. To loved ones, Twitter friends and blog readers alike. To loved ones I apologise profusely for scaring you and please know that it was nothing you did. To be honest, I frightened myself, and in my view upsetting others I care so deeply about is unforgivable. To them I have to make a very public apology. I know some might say I shouldn’t have to apologise but I feel I do. I have to say I’m sorry because I am. With all I am.

I thank everyone for messages of support and that certainly has given me strength. Strength to fight this bastard of a fucker which consumed me. I know there was some outside pressure which brought on this dip but I didn’t handle them well and did the wrong things. I won’t I again. I’ve learned now what is important to me and I know I can do it. I’m here and I didn’t kill myself so that’s a good first step on the road to wellness.

So, how am I taking care of me? I’m eating food. Which is good. Food is good Eating good food regularly gives you the energy you need to do the things you need to do, and makes you feel better. I forgot this for a while. I’m cooking and enjoying it. I’m eating and enjoying that too. Simple really.

I’ve seen friends which is great. I was concerned I’d be a mess and depress the heck out of them but I’ve had fun. So thank you for that.

I’ve kept busy. I’m working on a thing which is quite exciting and pretty much almost finished. It’s hush-hush just now but you’ll find out soon I hope.

I’m taking my meds. I know I have to and so that’s just a fact. I won’t feel a failure, I just know I have to. I’ve beaten myself up in the past for having to take them but now I know it’s fine. I have to be sensible.

I’m exercising lots. Walking lots and using the treadmill at my aunt’s house. If I hit a slump I go for a walk or a run as the physical exercise takes my mind off shizzle. If I hit a slump I force myself to do 50 situps and 1km on the treadmill. I’m gonna be buff very soon at this rate. Exercise is good.

When I go for a walk, as I’m in an area I don’t know very well, I pay attention to my surroundings and look at things. I know this might sound daft but seeing new things and paying attention to what’s going on around you is good. Walking blindly around with your head up your arse and your thoughts going round in circles isn’t.

All of this means I’m sleeping better. For a while I thought I’d forgotten how to sleep, which is crazy. But one night I was so tired after walking and exercising most of the day I just fell asleep. Warm, safe and in a bed. My mind shut down and rebooted the next morning with a clarity I’d not had in a while. I’ve had some unsettled nights sure, but I’ve dealt with them and read when I couldn’t sleep. I’ve read The Little Book of Motherventing, (available here) and I wholeheartedly recommend it as it’s funny and brilliantly written. Buy it now! Believe me, your life will be better for it. I will be plugging @motherventing‘s book as much as I can as I think she’s an incredibly talented writer, is a true friend and deserves much success. It’s got some great reviews already, plus it’s only £1.02 which is a bargain for something so good.  I’m now reading The Dukkering Boy by the same author and I’m gripped, so I recommend that too.

Reading is good. The last book I read before these was The Tiger Who Came To Tea. Who’s a fucking liberty taker if you ask me.

I know what I must do and have to do to move on. And I’m doing it. And there are people who mean so much to me, and I miss so much, that getting on is the best thing I can do. Get on with shit and then maybe I stand a chance of seeing them soon. And getting on with shit feels good.

I’ll be seeing my children on February 16th, at my son’s birthday party. I’m looking forward to it and have a great gift for him already which I know he’ll love. I Skype them and call them and they know I love them dearly. Of course I miss them beyond words but I’ll see them soon and that is something to look forward to.

There is hope and I’m feeling optimistic. I know what I can do and I know when I’m at my best I’m very good indeed. I’d forgotten this. I’m work in progress at the moment but I’ll get there. And I know I will because there are some things in my life which are sublime, extraordinary, joyous and beautiful beyond all measure.

The darkness is lifting and the pressure is easing. I’ve stopped clawing at my insides and I’m taking my time. And I just wanted to let you know.

Thanks for reading and thanks for your support.

41 responses to “Getting on with shizzle.

  1. I have been there since the strokes visit there quite a lot. Its an awful place but with help and support you will get there. I am pleased the clouds and darkness are finally lifting a great and honest post

  2. This is so good to read. Long may it continue. Keep following your own advice, it sounds like you really can make yourself better. Also a brilliantly written post as ever and that’s something you should be proud of.

  3. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. It is a long road but it gets better with every step taken. Well done for being honest. To yourself and to everyone else too. We’re all still here, still reading and still wishing you well on this journey that many of us are taking.

    • Many thanks. I know I’m not the only one in this boat but blogging my headbox out actually helps.

      Thanks for reading and thanks for your comment.

  4. Hi, I’ve only just begun following you on Twitter, so this is the first visit to your site, and what an article for my first read.

    Very open and honest, it’s great to see you have the confidence to write about this subject. I’m sure not only writing like this will help you, but will also help others who are maybe think they are the only one.

    Good work and good luck. See you in Twitterland 🙂

  5. Totally agree tiger turns up unannounced eats all the food drinks all tea then does one what a piss taker.
    Glad to read you are winning your battles:-)

  6. It’s good to hear you have taken back some control, sometimes just admitting to what is going on is enough to boost you into doing something about it. I love reading as an escape too but my M.E brain does not always allow it 😦 so I rely on audio books which is fab- headphones on , eyes shut and someone telling a story……as long as it’s not about that piss taking tiger 🙂

  7. I’m so glad to hear this and long may it continue my friend. As for Tiger, I’ve never really thought about it before but you’re right – talk about taking the piss! I’ll never quite see that book in the same way again…

    • As a teenage I used to go to parties, and friends of mine would play the game ‘Berties – which is where you used to take as many liberties as possible at someone’s house party. One friend brought his washing and got it washed and tumble dried while the party went on. He won that game but the Tiger would’ve aced him at that.

      Thanks for your comment, and thanks for reading.

  8. Spencer you have creased me up about The Tiger Who Came To Tea,I shall drift off too sleep chuckling about that one.Brill to hear that things are getting better for you x

  9. It is very inspiring to read about others who are doing the hard work of digging themselves out of the hole we sometimes find ourselves in. I know how difficult it is from experience and I applaud you for your strength and your courage. It’s great to see others who benefit from doing things I have learned help too – really noticing things, treating one’s self well, laughing… I have found that viewing all of my faults as kind of cute and endearing is helpful too – makes me lighter and better able to be kind to myself when I’m acting up. Keep up the courage!

  10. So pleased for you – you’re doing great. Your blog had been giving me hope through some dark times of my own x

  11. I feel for you Spencer. Your struggles are far greater than mine I think…but much of what you say strikes a chord with me. I hope you manage to fight the demon. drag the bastard back under your control and win back what you so obviously deserve.

  12. Oh man I didn’t realise things had got bad. I’d been in my own little world. Things aren’t great here either for lots of reasons and I’ve just DM’d you on twitter asking for advice and now I feel like an eejit. I hope you’re ok. So many of us can empathise with this. x

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

