A story about non-stick pans

non stick pans

My gran bought some non-stick pans.

My mum and my aunt were both children when she bought them, both at school, but my gran told me this story when I was growing up and when she did it always made me laugh. My gran and grandfather were both Irish, and while neither were educated and booksmart, both were very bright people. This is not an ‘Irish’ joke. This is what happened.

My gran bought some non-stick pans. Her first set. Teflon covered and all new. A labour-saving purchase. No more scrubbing stuff from the bottom of pans. This Teflon would save her time when washing up, after doing the cooking, after a long day at work.

My gran bought some non-stick pans and the next morning she went off to work. My grandfather had a day off for some reason. She couldn’t remember why when she told me the story.

When my gran came home my grandfather was sitting reading the newspaper.

“Good day Molly?”

“Yes Paddy. I’m  just going to make some dinner now before Mary and Pat get home.”

“Oh, by the way, I cleaned those new pans you bought.”

My gran went into the kitchen and saw her new pans on the draining board, shining and gleaming. Not a trace of Teflon anywhere to be seen.

“I tell you Molly. That black stuff on those pans was a fucker to get off.”

She swore under her breath, apparently. As she put it when she told me this story, “I swore like a navvy Spencer! I’d spent a lot of money on those pans. But what could I say? He’d done what he thought was right. He wasn’t thick at all, he just got it wrong. But his heart was in the right place.”

She put the kettle on and went into the living room. “Paddy. You did a grand job. Cup of tea?”

“I’d love one.”

After my grandfather died, some 20 years later, my gran bought another set of non-stick pans. As she said, “if I’d bought another set while he was alive he would’ve tried to clean those too. Bless him.”

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

21 responses to “A story about non-stick pans

  1. I was concerned when seeing the title of the blog but enjoyed the story more than I expected to. Now I can never say I have nothing to blog about. I appreciate your Gran’s understanding of her husband’s good intentions.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read. My gran used to tell me this story when we did the washing up after Sunday lunch. Perhaps as a warning to not scrub her pans too hard. Men eh?

    • I remember my grandad doing the washing up very clearly. Always told me to rinse glasses in cold water so they’ll come up sparkly. He was also very good at cleaning windows with water, vinegar and newspapers. A trick I still use.
      Thanks for reading and for commenting. 🙂

  2. Loved it… too touching !!

    This is called true relationship… whr u understand intentions …whr u avoid misunderstandings…whr u hv trust & faith on ur loved one… & whr u won’t utter a word tat may hurt ur loved ones…!!

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful incidence..

    Hats-off 2 ur grandparents for this beautiful relationship..

    Wud like 2 share my blog on relationships:
    http://akanksharastogi.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/who-deserves-more-priority/

  3. Oh goodness! That’s EXACTLY what my mum did when my dad bought our first non-stick pan in 1981. She was furious at him as she used five Brillo pads scrubbing the ‘black stuff’ off 😀
    My dad taught me to clean my windows with vinegar and newspaper too 🙂

  4. Aw, that’s a lovely tale, about what love truly is. My nan probably would of swatted my grandad with the pans 😉

  5. Oh bless her! That’s love isn’t it! My husband would have got a pan round his earhole if he did that 🙂

  6. Your Gran sounds like a top lady, I aspire to have your Gran’s patience. I found your story particularly touching as my parents celebrate 54 years of marriage this week. When I asked Dad what his secret was, he said “choose your battles carefully, sometimes people don’t mean to be annoying.”

  7. God bless your Gran for her forbearance. She’s a better woman than I am! Think this is such a lovely story, and such good advice for so many of us who occasionally disturb the peace in our households (cough) I’d like to repost it on my humble blog. Would you mind?

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

