Question Time

Splendid people do splendid things, and it is with that in mind that I must thank @ageingmatron for tagging me on this little meme, and for praising my literary achievements so wholeheartedly over such a long time. Anna really is a wonderful woman, who has been very supportive over the time we’ve been in contact, and her blog is a real treat, so if you’re not familiar with it I urge you to get over and take a butchers.

To be honest, I’ve kind of lost my blogging mojo of late, and something like this will I hope, help me clear the dust a bit and carry on. Everyone who blogs goes through these lulls from time to time and sometimes a good meme like this works as fibre for the blogging digestive system. Or something.

And so, onwards and upwards, as the proctologist said to the Bishop, and so this meme asks me to answer some questions about the me, thank the person who did tag me in on it, which I ‘ve done above, and to tag three more people. And so I tag @AdamPlum (The PlumBum’s Blog) @needaphone (Life, Ninja Killer Cat and everything else) and @analogyqueen (Notes from the desk of the Analogy Queen) and Karyn, I promise I will do your meme that you kindly tagged me on this week.

Here we go. Prepare to be underwhelmed.

Where do you do most of your writing/blogging?

At a desk in my house. I sometimes take my laptop to the pub though and blog while enjoying a pint of something cold. I’m quite portable, and have also blogged on trains and in bed. So portable am I that I’m thinking of launching a new stocking filler for Christmas. “My Pocket Spencer” it’s a bit like a Tamagotchi, in that you have to press buttons at certain times of the day to feed it cheese, and then it talks to you randomly, a bit like my tweets, saying ‘Oh my life is so shit’ and ‘I kiss you on both cheeks’ but always wishes you ‘Nunnite and Sweet Dreams’. Yours for Ā£4.99.

What books were your childhood favourites?

Beau Geste, The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe and The Karma Sutra.

Who is your favourite fictional character?

The bloke from the Karma Sutra.

Have you ever Googled yourself and been surprised at what you’ve found?

Totally. As I’ve found nothing. But I’m usually in stealth mode so that’s fine with me.

What is your favourite time of day and why?

I’ve had to think long and hard about this but I can only come up with morning. I’m not a morning person but I love that I can see my children, have breakfast with them, and plan a fun day. A day with such promise and hope.

Other than that it’s the kiss before the light goes out. For obvious reasons.

Who would play me in a movie of my life?

I’ve been told I look like the following people at one or more points in my life. They are John Thompson, Gene Hackman from The French Connection, Tom Sizemore, Daniel Craig, Christian Bale and Bradley Cooper in his new film.

But I think Daffy Duck would be a better shout, as I do get that angry when I’m tired, hungry, or just a bit arsed orff. He’d do a great job.

One material possession I could not live without.

I used to think my wedding ring, but that changed. As such I don’t really understand possessions very much. For me that is. I love buying things for other people but for me possessions aren’t really important.

If someone put a gun to my head and suggested I should answer this question or die, then I guess I’d say my laptop, because it helps me connect to a wider world, holds photos and information that I’d be annoyed if I lost, and I can watch Downton Abbey on it. Sad, but a bit true.

Have you ever been naked in public?

Yep. Once ran through a supermarket for a dare. I have been known to be quite reckless.

What is your dream car?

One that can fly to the moon. Or KITT from Knight Rider, but I suspect he’d annoy the shit out of me quite quickly.

What/who/where was your first proper kiss?

No names here but she was an older girl. I was 17, she was 19. We went to the cinema and she asked me over coffee afterwards if I’dĀ  ever kissed anyone. I said I hadn’t and she said “Come home with me and I’ll teach you all you need to know.” I did, and when I left, 10 hours later I was still able to feel her lips on mine as the bus took me home.

So that’s it. Has my mojo come back? Time will tell.

Thanks for reading.

10 responses to “Question Time

    • Thanks for reading. I’ll send designs and an outline to a major toy manufacturer. And ensure it has a MUTE setting. šŸ™‚

  1. Oh thats made me smile,your writing usually does make me smile or have a few tears actually,that’s not to say its bad Spencer,ah you kno what I mean! The pocket Spencer is such a good idea!Bet it would sell!

  2. You are clever. And I too, would like a pocket Spencer so I could hear, “I kiss you on both cheeks.” Makes me giggle every time it read it:)
    So, I’m to answer these questions as well? I’d better get thinkin’.
    Nice work. I always enjoy your writing šŸ’—

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

