Some bits of day with my children. In mostly their own words.

“Daddy! Daddy!”

“Mummy! Open the door mummy. PLEASE!”

“Daddy. Daddy!”

“Daddy. Cuddles!”

“Daddy! Daddy! Can I have some of your cereal. Or flakes. Or mummy’s cereal?”

“Daddy! Daddy! Milk. Milk pleash?”

“Daddy. Can I have more milk please?”

“Daddy Banaba. Banaba daddy”

“Daddy. Can I have some brioche with jam.”

“Banana please daddy. Thank YOU!”

“Daddy. Shall I get K****’s shoes?”

“Not getting dressed now daddy.”

“I’ve brushed my teeth daddy. Look!”

“Are we going on the train today daddy?”

“I don’t want to go this way. Can we go to see the roundabout way?”

“I’m not. I don’t want to help you shopping as I don’t want to do shopping”. *Child sits in middle of supermarket*

“Daddy! The fair! Can we go to the fair. NOW?”

“Daddy? Is the fair open yet?”

“Daddy? Why ISN’T the fair open yet? It might be open.”

“Daddy daddy! Can I have an ice cream?”

“Daddy. Not that ice cream. THAT ice cream.”

“Daddy? Can you wipe my bottom?”

“I’m not tired daddy. I’m not.”

Silence as child falls asleep on train.

“Daddy, daddy, can we have cheesy pasta?”

“Daddy. I don’t LIKE cheesy pasta!”

“Ice cream! Ice cream! I don’t want a yoghurt.”

“I don’t want a bath.”

“Daddy, daddy, can I have a BATH?”

“Daddy, daddy, not THAT story, this story.”

“Daddy, can we have the penguin story?”

“Night night daddy. Sweet dreams and I love you.”

*Tuck children into bed. Give kisses. Cuddles. Walk away. Close doors slowly. Like you don’t want the day to end*

“Daddy? Can I have some cheese?”

“Daddy! I need the toilet!”

“Thank you Daddy.”

“Ninigh night daddy. Shee you a morrow”

It’s bedtime so I have to say goodnight and leave.

“Nunnite. Sweetdreams.”

“I love you.”

In stereo.

11 responses to “Some bits of day with my children. In mostly their own words.

    • I’m a proud father, and wanted to write a post about the children, for once, using their own words.
      We’ve all had days like this. The relentlessness of it but for me I cherish every time they call me Daddy. For whatever reason. I hope that shows in this post.
      Thanks for reading.

  1. Aw, yes it is lovely! πŸ™‚ Apart from the lovely ‘Daddy’ Ness of it I also took the enthusiasm, happiness, impulsiveness and love of your kids and indeed also my own kids (different kids obviously!) from this post. Love it! πŸ™‚ Is the penguin book, ‘Penguin’ or another penguin book?

    • The penguin book is ‘Lost and Found’ by Oliver Jeffers – a big favourite with tge children. And I love it too. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for reading.

  2. Lovely (for toddlers). Your pride shows immensely. I know how you feel. Sometimes I feel I could strangle my two year old, but then she babbles “Mmamamamamamammaa” at me and EVERYTHING is forgiven. Just. x

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

